Is Stella Artois Gluten Free?

Is Stella Artois Gluten Free?

Gluten is a protein that can be found in wheat, rye, and barley. Wheat and barley are ingredients that are needed to make beer, and even though very little protein remains in the beer after the brewing process is complete, it is still very likely that there may be traces of gluten in a glass of beer.

Stella Artois beer is an example of a premium quality combined with original flavor profiles. It is an alcohol that is brewed according to the original old recipe from purified water, hops, barley, and corn.

In addition, all of the company’s beverages undergo careful filtration, which results in an unparalleled visual and aromatic naturalness.

Stella Artois, 5,2% is the most popular Belgian beer in the world, repeatedly recognized as the best beer in the Lager/Pilsner category at international competitions. It is brewed with 85% barley malt, 15% corn, and 2 kinds of hops. After a ten-day fermentation, the beer is cooled down to 0°C and left to mature for about 3 more weeks. 

The visual coloring is based on a golden color, which can be replaced by pale straw and rich copper hues.

The aromatic component is based on a combination of herbs, spices, fruits, and nuts. Each product delights with its original bouquet.

The gastronomic performance embodies softness, which is perfectly complemented by a sweet aftertaste.

Is Stella Artois Gluten Free?

No, Classic Stella contains gluten, because the beer is made from barley, which contains gluten. People with gluten intolerance are not recommended to consume beer even in small quantities. However, there are exceptions: some producers offer special gluten-free beers made from rice, corn, millet, sorghum, buckwheat, or soy. From other beers labeled as gluten-free, the gluten is subsequently extracted using a special procedure.

Beers usually contain gluten, but there are exceptions that allow you to enjoy a refreshing light drink despite being intolerant. 

Stella Artois Gluten Free

Classic Stella contains gluten, of course. However, brewers have long since learned how to remove this protein from their product so that people with gluten intolerance can also drink beer.

Stella Artois has taken their brewing experience to another level with a special gluten-free recipe. Developed by Stella’s brewmasters, this Coeliac UK-certified beverage not only delivers the same great taste as its classic counterpart – it offers over 600 years of traditional beer-making heritage for everyone to enjoy.

To produce gluten-free beer, brewers have found two techniques – first, replacing gluten-containing grains with gluten-free cereals, such as rice, corn, buckwheat, and sorghum. The other approach removes gluten from finished beer brewed from barley or wheat with a special enzyme that breaks down this protein.

In the first case, the beer will have a slightly different taste, while in the second, the basic taste of the beer is preserved, as well as foaminess and color. However, in the latter case, the enzyme removes only part of the protein, which is why such beer is labeled as low-gluten beer.

A completely gluten-free beer is one with less than 20 gluten particles per million.

Types of beer and gluten content

The amount of gluten in beer is measured in ppm (parts per million).

In most countries, food and beverages must contain less than 20 ppm of gluten in order to be considered gluten-free.

Most commonly brewed beers contain well over 20 ppm of gluten, although the exact amount varies depending on the brewing process and ingredients used.

Here’s the average gluten content of common types of beer:

  • Lager: 63 ppm
  • Stout: 361 ppm
  • Ales: 3,120 ppm
  • Wheat beer: 25,920 ppm

As you can see, the most common beers contain levels of gluten that are not safe for people with celiac disease.

Gluten in beer: why is it harmful?

Recently, information has surfaced that gluten is detrimental to the human body. There have been many studies around the world, and none of them have confirmed these claims. The only harm of gluten is the danger to those who experience protein intolerance. The disease does exist, and it is genetic in nature. Some beer drinkers have begun to wonder if gluten brings negative consequences. 

Gluten in beer, the harm of which has never been proven, is used as a preservative. This component does not cause any harm. There is an opinion that the myths invented about the harm of cereal gluten are largely a marketing ploy that has increased the demand for various brands of gluten-free beer. People who trust advertisements, billboards, and posters, trying to preserve their health, increasingly prefer gluten-free beverages. 

The price policy for such beers is increasing, and the producers are only benefiting. In reality, the presence of gluten in beer is comparable to the presence of starch in potatoes.

Also check:

Are Sour Beers Gluten-Free?

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Chainless Brewing
Enable registration in settings - general